Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /srv/www/joomla/plugins/fields/acfcountry/acfcountry.php on line 86

Training Coordinators

Community of Practice

informal network to share training experiences

The Community of Practice for Training Coordinators (CoP) is an informal network to share training experiences initiated by a group of people who coordinate training programmes of research and e-infrastructures. This initiative of starting a Community of Practice for training coordinators aims to map out the training activities of various pan-European, EOSC-related initiatives and strengthen their training capacity by improved alignment, sharing experiences and good practices, initiating cross-infrastructure training activities.

Background: One of the outcomes of the EUDAT project final conference was to set up several training workshops across Europe. At the EUDAT end conference the team, including OpenAIRE, proposed to continue collaboration, independent of projects, in a bottom up initiative for a Community of Practice for training coordinators. The idea was welcomed at the education and training group of the RDA and OpenAIRE has taken up coordination activities.


On 6 September 2018 the CoP was launched with a first online call. This call was followed up by a monthly call ever since. The CoP calls are about exchanging news about training related topics such as the EOSC training portal, new training offerings by projects or infrastructures, how to create badges, curricula, etc. As a member you receive an invite to the monthly calls.

During the DI4R in October 2018 the CoP organised a first face to face meeting: “Have a CoP of T in our cafe” (see here)Two other meetings took place at the Open Science FAIR in Porto (September 2019) on Making EOSC Training More FAIR and at the EOSC Symposium in Budapest (November 2019) on Skills development for EOSC - Competences and Training infrastructure for EOSC. A three-day workshop on Training in the EOSC in February 2020 in the Hague released recommendations on the Rules of Participation for training and practical guidance for training service providers. GDPR and training: How to organize GDPR compliant online events webinar is planned for October and How to effectively engage a community? session in November 2020.

Virtual meetings

Previous meetings: Gdoc

Planned virtual meetings:
2020 (the first Tuesday each month at 2PM CET)
  • 9 January
  • 4 February
  • 3 March
  • 31 March
  • May 7th, 3PM CEST
  • 2 June
  • 7 July
  • 4 August
  • 1 September
  • 6 October
  • 3 November
  • 8 December
Slack channel
Slack channelThere is a Slack channel available by invitation for the members of the CoP for discussing topics, e.g. new train the trainer toolkits and share news.


Since the start of the Community of Practice in September, the training coordinators from several projects including projects preparing the European Open Science Cloud where already present, e.g. EOSCpilot, EOSC-hub. The CoP is for training coordinators in communities, projects and research infrastructures. In the list below the current members are listed with their affiliation, project or research infrastructure.
How to become a member

Send an email to Iryna Kuchma, iryna.kuchma [at] eifl.net

Current members

  • Iryna Kuchma, EIFL, OpenAIRE, FOSTER (Coordinator)
  • Ellen Leenarts, DANS, OpenAIRE, EOSCpilot, FAIRsFAIR, SSHOC (Co-coordinator)
  • René van Horik, DANS, EOSC-Hub, FREYA, CESSDA-trust (Co-coordinator)
  • Ademosu I. E., Lagos State Physical Planning Permit Authority
  • Alen Vodopijevec, IRB, OpenAIRE
  • Alexia de Casanove, CINES
  • Alicia Gomez Sanchez, TU Wien Bibliothek
  • Angus Whyte, DCC, EOSCpilot, FAIRsFAIR
  • Antónia Correia, University of Minho, RDA-PT, FOSTER Plus, FIT4RRI, ON-MERRIT
  • Celia van Gelder, DTL/ELIXIR-NL, ELIXIR, FAIRsFAIR, EOSC-life
  • Chantal Huijbers, Griffith University, Australia, ecoEd, BCCVL, ecocloud
  • Christopher Erdmann,  University of California
  • Daniel Bangert, Goettingen University, RDA
  • Deborah Thorpe, Digital Repository of Ireland
  • Džalila Muharemagić, University of Bihać
  • Elisha Teo, Aalborg University Copenhagen, INOS Project
  • Ellen Verbakel, Essentials 4 Data Support
  • Elli Papadopoulou, Athena Research & Innovation Center, OpenAIRE, RDA
  • Emma Lazzeri, CNR-ISTI, OpenAIRE, RDA
  • Erzsébet Tóth-Czifra, DARIAH
  • Evangelia Triantafyllou, Aalborg University Copenhagen, INOS (Integrating open and citizen science into active learning approaches in higher education) project 
  • Evgeny Bobrov, Berlin Institute of Health, QUEST – Quality | Ethics | Open Science | Translation, Center for Transforming Biomedical Research
  • Fotis E. Psomopoulos, INAB - Institute of Applied Biosciences, CERTH - Center for Research and Technology Hellas
  • Frances Madden, British Library, FREYA
  • Friedel Grant, LIBER
  • Gergely Sipos, EGI, EOSC-hub
  • Giuseppe La Rocca, EGI, EOSC-hub
  • Helene Brinken, Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB)
  • Helen Clare, JISC and EOSC Synergy
  • Hugh Shanahan, Royal Holloway, CODATA-RDA schools
  • Ilaria Fava, Goettingen University, OpenAIRE
  • Irena Vipavc Brvar, UL, CESSDA, SSHOC
  • Janice Ansine, Citizen Science at the Open University, Cos4Cloud project
  • Jeannette Ekstrøm, DTU
  • Johannes Blumenberg, GESIS - Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences
  • Johanna Havemann, Access 2 Perspectives, AfricArXiv 
  • Jonathan England, LU, OpenAIRE
  • Katerina Zourou, Web2Learn, INOS (Integrating open and citizen science into active learning approaches in higher education) project
  • Katherine Flynn, ISEKI Food Association and FoodCloud
  • Kerry Miller, The University of Edinburgh
  • Kerstin Helbig, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Kevin Ashley, DCC
  • Linas Čepinskas, DANS, FAIRsFAIR and EOSC Synergy
  • Linda Martin, Bielefeld University
  • Lowri Harris, University of Wales Trinity Saint David and FoodCloud
  • Maggie Hellström, Lund University, ENVRI
  • Marcel Ras, NCDP
  • Mareike Buss, CBS
  • Maria Manuel Borges, University of Coimbra
  • Martina Torma, LIBER
  • Mathilde Panes, EPFL Library
  • Mijke Jetten, Radboud University
  • Mojca Kotar, University of Ljubljana
  • Natasha Simons, Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC)
  • Nicola Fiore, LifeWatch ERIC, ENVRI FAIR
  • Pedro L. Fernandes, Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
  • Pedro Principe, University of Minho, OpenAIRE, FIT4RRI, FAIRsFAIR
  • Silvia Wissel, ZBW
  • Sonja Filiposka, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University - Skopje, NI4OS project
  • Stefanie Strebel, Universität Zürich
  • Tatsiana Yankelevich, LIBER
  • Tobias Steiner, Goettingen University, OpenAIRE
  • Valerie Brasse, euroCRIS - The International Organisation for Research Information
  • Vasso Kalaitzi, LIBER, SSHOC
  • Venkat Shanmugasundaram, DCC
  • Veronika Keck, GESIS - Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences

  • Vicky Garnett, DARIAH
  • Vid Svaksha, VIB

flag black white lowOpenAIRE-Advance receives
funding from the European 
Union's Horizon 2020 Research and
Innovation programme under Grant
Agreement No. 777541.
  Unless otherwise indicated, all materials created by OpenAIRE are licenced under CC ATTRIBUTION 4.0 INTERNATIONAL LICENSE.
OpenAIRE uses cookies in order to function properly. By using the OpenAIRE portal you accept our use of cookies.